Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Montreal Mount Royal Cemetery, Quebec



Aylmer Cemetery,

Arcadia Oak Ridge Cemetery, Florida, USA

Estevan Cemetery, Saskatchewan

Kamloops Pleasant Street Cemetery, British Columbia

Mount Hope St. Paul's Anglican Cemetery, Ontario

Regina Cemetery, Saskatchewan

St. John's Mount Pleasant Cemetery, Newfoundland and Labrador

Horticulture, and the overall beautification of cemeteries, has always been an important aspect in the commemoration of the 1.7 million Commonwealth War Dead of the two World Wars. The original horticulture concept was to create a sentimental association between the gardens of home and the foreign fields where the soldiers lie buried. To achieve this, the Commission employs full time gardening staffs and contractors to maintain the horticulture standards in the more than 2,500 Commission cemeteries and plots worldwide.

Historically, horticulture did not play the same role in commemorating the War Dead in Canada and the United States, as it did in the Commission owned and maintained cemeteries overseas; however, in the late 1990s, Canadian Agency staff began a small horticulture programme which has continued to expand. The aim is to target burials marked primarily with Commission headstones which are grouped in plots. Currently, there are sixty-six plots of War Dead under floral arrangements - fifty-five in Canada, eight in the United States, one in the Bahamas, one in Saint Lucia and one in Trinidad and Tobago. The intent is to continue to develop three to five new plots each year until the potential is exhausted.

In developing the plots the Canadian Agency follows Commission standards which include a 50cm wide floral border in front of the headstones and a 10cm border behind them. The types of plants and flowers planted in the borders vary with each location. The guiding principles are simply that the flowers should be bright and healthy; should not obscure the inscription on the headstones; and, the borders be kept free of garbage, dead plants, weeds and have sharply trimmed edges. Overall, the flower beds and surrounding turf must present a highly attractive appearance. Most plots are seasonal but a few have flowers and plants which are maintained throughout the year.

Although most of the plots under horticulture embellishment consist of less than 30 headstones, the Agency has three major plots which have 70, 150 and 350 headstones. These plots are located respectively in Victoria, Winnipeg and Vancouver. The plot in Vancouver Mountain View Cemetery is a cemetery within a cemetery, with a wall around the plot and rows of headstones with floral borders. It closely resembles a Commission cemetery one would find overseas.

War graves under floral care in the United States vary from locations with single graves to larger plots. The largest site is located in Montgomery, Alabama where there are 80 Commission and 20 French military headstones in Oakwood Cemetery. Smaller plots of 20 and 23 graves are located at Terrell, Texas and Arcadia, Florida. All three sites contain burials resultant from the UK/US flying training programmes during both world wars.

Following are the locations of horticultural plots (some locations have a number of floral plots):


Gander & St. John's

Prince Edward Island


Nova Scotia

Halifax, Kentville, Kingston, Middleton, Sydney, Truro & Yarmouth

New Brunswick



Arvida, Metis Beach, Montreal, Pointe Claire & St-Jean-sur-Richelieu


Aylmer, Barrie, Dunnville, Jarvis, Mount Hope, Ottawa, Peterborough, Picton, Trenton & Toronto


Neepawa & Winnipeg


Estevan & Regina


Innisfail & Red Deer

British Columbia

Nelson, Kamloops, Vancouver & Victoria

United States of America Arcadia and Miami, Florida; Montgomery, Alabama; Ocracoke and Cape Hatteras, North Carolina; Miami and Ponca City, Oklahoma & Terrell, Texas
Bahamas Nassau
Saint Lucia Castries
Trinidad and Tobago Port of Spain

Finally, the Canadian Agency, in conjunction with Veterans Affairs Canada, the Department of National Defence and Beechwood Cemetery, have partnered to develop what is now known as the National Military Cemetery in Ottawa. Horticulture is a major feature of this site; each grave stone has annual and/or perennial plantings, common to many of the Commonwealth cemeteries around the world.

Modified: 2016-03-23
Copyright © 2007 Commonwealth War Graves Commission (Canada)

English     

Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth

Cimetière Mont-Royal de Montréal (Québec)

 

L'horticulture

P8270156.jpg
Cimetière Aylmer
(Ontario)

102_4980.jpg
Cimetière Oak Ridge d'Arcadia (Floride, États-Unis)

HortAug09-68.jpg
Cimetière Estevan (Saskatchewan)

Kamloops.jpg
Cimetière Pleasant Street de Kamloops (Colombie-Britannique)

Mount Hope St. Paul's Anglican.jpg
Cimetière St-Paul de Mount Hope (Ontario)

IMG_6848.jpg
Cimetière Régina (Saskatchewan)

St. John's Mt Pleasant.JPG
Cimetière Mount Pleasant de St-Jean (Terre-Neuve et Labrador)

Les travaux d'horticulture et d'embellissement dans les cimetières ont toujours été un aspect primordial de la commémoration des 1,7 million de morts des deux guerres mondiales du Commonwealth. Initialement, les aménagements horticoles visaient à créer un lien sentimental entre les jardins domestiques et les cimetières étrangers où reposent les soldats. À cette fin, la Commission emploie du personnel de jardinage à temps plein ainsi que des entrepreneurs privés pour réaliser les travaux d'horticulture dans plus de 2 500 cimetières et lots de la Commission partout dans le monde.

Historiquement, l'horticulture ne jouait pas le même rôle au Canada et aux États-Unis, au chapitre de la commémoration de ceux qui sont morts à la guerre, que dans les cimetières d'outre-mer qui sont administrés et entretenus par la Commission. Cependant, vers la fin des années 1990, l'Agence canadienne a mis en oeuvre un petit programme d'horticulture qui, au fil des ans, a pris de l'expansion. Ce programme cible principalement les pierres tombales de la Commission qui sont regroupées dans des lots. Il y a actuellement soixante-six lots comportant des arrangements floraux, soit cinquante-cinq au Canada, huit aux États-Unis, un aux Bahamas, un à Sainte-Lucie et un à Trinité-et-Tobago. L'Agence canadienne a l'intention de continuer à réaménager annuellement de trois à cinq nouveaux lots jusqu'à ce que les lots ayant un potentiel horticole soit épuisé.

Les travaux d'aménagement doivent répondre aux normes de la Commission et comprennent une bordure florale d'une largeur de 50 cm devant la stèle et une de 10 cm derrière. Les types de fleurs qui sont plantées dans les bordures varient d'un emplacement à l'autre. Les principes directeurs sont simples : les fleurs doivent être de couleurs vives et en santé; elles ne doivent pas cacher l'inscription qui figure sur la stèle; et il faut enlever tous les détritus, plantes mortes et mauvaises herbes dans les bordures et bien les tailler. En fait, les massifs de fleurs et la pelouse environnante doivent avoir une très belle apparence. La plupart des aménagements sont saisonniers, mais il y a certains lots où les fleurs et les plantes sont entretenues à l'année.

La plupart des lots embellis par des aménagements horticoles comptent moins de 30 stèles, mais il y a aussi trois lots importants où ils comportent 70, 150 et 350 stèles. Ces lots sont situés respectivement à Victoria, à Winnipeg et à Vancouver. Le lot dans le cimetière Mountain View de Vancouver est « un cimetière au sein du cimetière », entouré d'un mur et d'une barrière et comportant des rangées de stèles aménagées de bordures de fleurs. Il ressemble à un cimetière de la Commission d'outre-mer.

L'Agence canadienne effectue des arrangements floraux dans cinq lots aux États-Unis où se trouve des stèles individuelles ou des lots plus importants, notamment à Montgomery, en Alabama, où il y a 80 stèles de la Commission et 20 stèles militaires françaises. Des travaux d'embellissement horticole sont en cours à Terrell, au Texas (lot de 20 pierres tombales), et à Arcadia, en Floride (lot de 23 pierres tombales). Ces trois sites étaient des centres d'entraînement aérien pendant les deux guerres mondiales.

Voici la liste des emplacements des aménagements floraux (certains emplacements comptent plusieurs lots) :

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

Gander et St-Jean

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Charlottetown

Nouvelle-Écosse

Halifax, Kentville, Kingston, Middleton, Sydney, Truro et Yarmouth

Nouveau-Brunswick

St-George

Québec

Arvida, Metis Beach, Montreal, Pointe Claire et St-Jean-sur-Richelieu

Ontario

Aylmer, Barrie, Dunnville, Jarvis, Mount Hope, Ottawa, Peterborough, Picton, Trenton et Toronto

Manitoba

Neepawa et Winnipeg

Saskatchewan

Estevan et Regina

Alberta

Innisfail et Red Deer

Colombie-Britannique

Nelson, Kamloops, Vancouver et Victoria

États-Unis d'Amérique Arcadia et Miami, Floride; Montgomery, Alabama; Ocracoke et Cape Hatteras, Caroline du Nord; Miami et Ponca City, Oklahoma et Terrell, Texas
Bahamas Nassau
Sainte-Lucie Castries
Trinité-et-Tobago Port of Spain

En dernier lieu, l'Agence canadienne s'est joint à Anciens Combattants Canada, au Ministère de la Défense Nationale ainsi qu'au Cimetière Beechwood afin de mettre en oeuvre ce qui est maintenant connu en tant que Cimetière militaire national à Ottawa. L'horticulture est un aspect important de cet emplacement; chaque stèle est ornée de plantes annuelles ou vivaces que l'on peut voir dans bon nombre de cimetières du Commonwealth du monde entier.

Modifier : 2016-03-23
Droit d'auteur © 2007 Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth (Canada)