Franšais     

Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Ottawa Beechwood Cemetery, Ontario

 

Welcome

"We can truly say that the whole circuit of the earth is girdled with the graves of our dead... I have many times asked myself whether there can more potent advocates of peace upon earth through the years to come, than this massed multitude of silent witnesses to the desolation of war."
King George V, Flanders, 1922

The Commonwealth War Graves Commission was established by Royal Charter on 21 May 1917. Its duties are to mark and maintain the graves of the forces of the Commonwealth who died in the two world wars, to build and maintain memorials to the dead whose graves are unknown, and to keep records and registers. Our cost is shared by the partner governments - those of Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand, South Africa and United Kingdom - in proportions based on the numbers of their graves.

The Canadian Agency of the Commission is responsible for fulfilling the Charter tasks in the Americas (including the Caribbean). This includes the care of 20,370 War Dead commemorated in 3,400 cemeteries and on ten memorials.

This web site has been designed to complement the Commission's main site at www.cwgc.org - we hope you find it interesting and helpful.

Modified: 2017-12-10
Copyright © 2007 Commonwealth War Graves Commission (Canada)

English     

Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth

Cimetière Beechwood d'Ottawa (Ontario)

 

Bienvenue

« Nous pouvons réellement dire que les sépultures de nos morts sont tout autour de la terre...Je me suis souvent demandé s'il pouvait exister, pour les années à venir, des avocats plus éloquents en faveur de la paix sur terre que cette multitude de témoins silencieux de la désolation de la guerre. »
Roi George V, Flandres, 1922

La Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth a été constituée par Charte royale le 21 mai 1917. Son mandat est de marquer et d'entretenir les sépultures des membres des forces armées des pays du Commonwealth qui sont morts au cours des deux guerres mondiales, d'ériger et d'entretenir des monuments commémoratifs dédiés à ceux qui n'ont pas de sépulture connue et de tenir des archives et des registres. Nos coûts sont partagés entre les gouvernements participants, soit ceux de l'Australie, du Canada, de l'Inde, de la Nouvelle-Zélande, de l'Afrique du Sud et du Royaume-Uni, en proportion du nombre de leurs sépultures de guerre.

L'Agence canadienne de la Commission assure l'application de la Charte au sein des Amériques (incluant les Caraïbes) ce qui vise 20 370 morts de guerre dans 3 400 lieux d'inhumations et dix monuments commémoratifs.

Ce site Internet a été conçu afin de compléter le site principal de la Commission (www.cwgc.org) – nous souhaitons que son contenu soit intéressant et utile.

Modifier : 2017-12-10
Droit d'auteur © 2007 Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth (Canada)